Until recently, nearly all first-time misdemeanor DWI offenders were offered a plea bargain in which they pleaded guilty to the lower charge of driving while ability impaired (DWAI). First-time misdemeanor offenders are no longer offered a plea to the reduced charge if the test result is too high or there was a refusal to take the test. They must either enter a guilty plea or go to trial on the misdemeanor allegation.
You need a Orange County-area DWI attorney with the experience, reputation, and expertise necessary to secure the best possible outcome for your case. Not all DWI lawyers are alike. At Benjamin Greenwald, we fight for the best possible outcome for you, which may include a hardship license, a stay of your driver’s license suspension to allow you to get a conditional license, and a reduced price.
What are the Various DWI Case Types?
Regardless of the severity of the charges against you, there is always a method to defend yourself. We have significant expertise assisting clients in a variety of impaired driving scenarios. We are prepared to fight for the best possible outcome for you.
We have defended clients in the following situations: • First-time DWI offense • Multiple DWI offenses • DWI including narcotics • DWI involving accidents and significant harm • Underage DWI
Take Action and Obtain the Necessary Defense
No matter the charges against you, no stone will be left unturned in the search for a defense strategy. Immediately following your arrest, you will need to defend your driving rights before the administrative license hearing. Afterwards, our White Plains DWI attorneys can aid you with the criminal procedure.
We can contest the evidence and refute the prosecution’s assertions. It is possible that the evidence is inadequate or that the arresting officers made a crucial error. Often, DWI charges can be lowered or even dropped if the arrest was improper!
New York’s Penalties for DWI & DWAI
New York drivers convicted of driving under the influence or driving while impaired face jail time, fines, and the revocation of their driving rights. After an arrest for drunk driving, it would be in your best advantage to retain the services of a qualified Orange County NY DWI attorney.
• First DWI: one year in jail, one thousand dollars in fines, and a six-month suspension
• First drunk driving offense: 15 days in prison, a $500 fine, and a 90-day suspension
• For a second DWI, four years in prison, $5,000 in fines, and a one-year suspension are imposed.
• Second DWAI: 30 days in jail, $750 in fines, and a six-month license suspension
• Third DWI: seven years in prison, ten thousand dollars in fines, and a one-year suspension
• Third DWAI: 180 days in prison, $1,500 in fines, 6-month suspension
Arrested? Immediately call for a free consultation!
To learn more about how Benjamin Greenwald can assist you with your driving while intoxicated (DWI), aggravated DWI, driving while ability impaired (DWAI), driving while ability impaired by drugs, or driving while ability impaired by drugs and alcohol case, please contact us for a free consultation.
DWI charges can have a major impact on your life, even if it is your first offense. If you are facing DWI charges, it is important to hire an experienced DWI attorney who can help you understand the charges against you and defend your rights. The Law Office of Benjamin Greenwald is a DWI defense law firm serving Orange County, NY. Attorney Greenwald has experience successfully defending clients against DWI charges, and he will work tirelessly to help you get the best possible outcome in your case. Contact the Law Office of Benjamin Greenwald today to schedule a free consultation.